#3 borrow a helping hand! Hermione’s story ..

by

Caption: Fixed computers after borrowing a helping hand from Adam

“Ever since I started The DoNation one of the things that I’ve envied most about my friends and their conventional jobs (aside from their salaries) are their IT support teams. Just because I run a web start up, it doesn’t mean I enjoy or am good at IT; I’ve been driven mad by far too many afternoons helplessly spent trying to fix niggling computer issues myself.

Through several social enterprise support schemes we’ve been lucky enough to have had four computers donated to us, which have all come in super handy as our team has grown. But as time goes on and our computing demands have increased, these well used, second hand machines started to stagger, stutter, and slur. I had resigned myself to the fact that it was time to fork out on a new laptop, but given that we have this abundance of machines and my hate for waste, I felt a bit uncomfortable about it.

But then our wonderful intern Eleanor (pictured above) came across a post on Ecomodo by Adam, an IT expert offering his skills to organisations like ours. It so happened that he lived just down the road from our office and so popped by after work one evening. Within hours he’d got two of the computers back on track, doubled in speed and reliability. On a second visit he tackled a desktop that I had completely written off, he managed to get it on for the first time in a year and back to full speed in less than an hour.

It was simple stuff for an expert, but mind-boggling and hair-tearing for a novice like me.  It saved me from forking out on a new computer, so saving a good £600 or so and a lot of unnecessary waste.

It might not be quite the full IT support team yet, but we’re getting there. Thanks Adam, and thanks Ecomodo!” Hermione

Stories from our members #3

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

